15 PhD positions in vaccine research

Posted by

Applications are invited for 15 three-year PhD studentships to be funded by the Marie- Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network “BactiVax” within the Horizon 2020 Programme of the European Commission. BactiVax (anti-Bacterial Innovative Vaccines) is an innovative European Training Network that will provide high-level training in vaccinology to 15 high-achieving, creative Early Stage Researchers (ESRs), and equip them with a wide range of transferrable skills for thriving careers in vaccine research within academia and industry. BactiVax will focus on developing novel vaccines to tackle the huge challenge of antimicrobial-resistant human pathogens that cause chronic, life-threatening respiratory and/or systemic infections. This network comprises 14 Principal Investigators with expertise in vaccinology, proteomics, medicine, microbiology, biochemistry, immunology, structural biology, medicinal, peptide and glycochemistry from 8 European countries and two companies which will collectively train ESRs in entrepreneurship, commercial vaccine development and bioprocessing.

Pfizer, CycloLab and ImmunXperts companies are partners.

Details : https://www.bactivax.eu/opportunities

Participant organisations and principal investigators

  • University College Dublin (UCD, Dublin, Ireland) – Assoc. Prof. Siobhán McClean (2 positions)
  • National Research Council, Institute of Biostructures and Bioimaging (CNR-IBB, Naples, Italy) – Dr. Rita Berisio
  • Queens University Belfast – Prof. Miguel Valvano
  • CIC bioGUNE | Center for Cooperative Research in Biosciences (Bilbao, Spain) – Prof. Juan Anguita
  • CIC bioGUNE | Center for Cooperative Research in Biosciences (Bilbao, Spain) – Prof. Jesús Jiménez-Barbero
  • St. George’s University of London (SGUL, London, UK) – Dr. Rajko Reljic
  • Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (LMU, Munich, Germany) – Prof. Johannes Huebner (2 positions)
  • University of Milano Bicocca (UNIMIB, Milan, Italy) – Prof. Francesco Peri
  • Imperial College London (London, UK) – Prof. Rosemary Boyton and Prof. Danny Altmann (one position) • École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland) – Prof. Christian Heinis
  • Eötvös Loránd University (Budapest, Hungary) – Dr. Kata Horváti
  • LIONEX GmBH (Braunschweig, Germany) – Prof. Mahavir Singh
  • ImmunXperts (Gosselies, Belgium) – Dr. Séverine Giltaire

Deadline for application: 31st December 2019, 17:00 GMT

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.